fbpx

How Behavioral Science Can Impact Nonprofits: The Inspiring Story at Save The Children

Allison Zelkowitz seized the opportunity to use behavioral science at Save The Children to make a big impact on global projects. By building a world-first “nudge unit” within the organization, her story is an inspiring example of how application of behavioral science principles can make a real difference in the world.

Allison Zelkowitz is the Founder and ‎Director of the Center for Utilizing Behavioral Insights for Children (CUBIC), part of the international nonprofit organization Save the Children. CUBIC is the first behavioural insights initiative or “nudge unit” in the world to focus on the most marginalised children’s rights and welfare. At CUBIC, they focus on nudging the behaviours and actions of decision-makers, educators, families and communities, so more children get the best possible start in life.

Ultimately, Allison is well aware that changing behavior isn’t about telling people what to do, it’s about facilitating ways for them to change: understanding the barriers and effectively removing them. The projects of CUBIC are not just inspiring, they are also life-saving. Projects such as

  • Nudging children in Thailand to wear bicycle helmets,
  • Encouraging breastfeeding in Laos, and
  • Increasing playful teaching methods to enhance children’s learning in Bangladesh.

In our chat with Allison, she reveals the vast personal dedication that it took to enable CUBIC to be formed. We love that Allison first carved her interest in behavioral science by listening to podcasts in her spare time (Allison has since become a Behavioral Grooves Patreon – thank you for your support!) But within the space of 14 months, her idea had grown into an international collaboration with other leading behavioral scientists, a huge fundraising effort, and eventually to the global launch of CUBIC in April 2020.

In this episode you will learn:

  • (11:05) What inspired Allison to start CUBIC at Save The Children International.
  • (15:03) Why just giving people good information doesn’t change their behavior.
  • (19:45) An overview of setting up a Nudge unit.
  • (23:55) The steps Allison took to build CUBIC in 14 months.
  • (30:18) About the current project in the Philippines texting parents to encourage them to positively engage with their children.
  • (41:54) Upcoming project on increasing vaccination uptake in the global south.
  • (43:59) Music Allison enjoys.
  • (48:58) Grooving Session and Bonus Track.

© 2021 Behavioral Grooves

Other Episodes You Will Enjoy

Episode 202: How Chaning Jang Works Around Not Being WEIRD https://behavioralgrooves.com/episode/how-chaning-jang-works-around-not-being-weird/

Episode 209: GAABS and Improving the Future for Every Applied Behavioral Scientist https://behavioralgrooves.com/episode/improving-the-future-for-every-applied-behavioral-scientist/

Episode 190: Cornelia Walther on POZE: Pause, Observe, Zoom in, and Experience https://behavioralgrooves.com/episode/cornelia-walther-on-poze-pause-observe-zoom-in-and-experience/

Episode 168: The Stages of Grief, Pandemics and the Psychology of Protests with Nicole Fisher https://behavioralgrooves.com/episode/the-stages-of-grief-pandemics-and-the-psychology-of-protests-with-nicole-fisher/

Episode 165: Shlomi Ron: Visual Storying Telling In a Time of Crisis https://behavioralgrooves.com/episode/shlomi-ron-visual-storying-telling-in-a-time-of-crisis/

Episode 146: Covid-19 Crisis: Mariel Beasley on Increasing Short Term Savings During the Crisis https://behavioralgrooves.com/episode/covid-19-crisis-mariel-beasley-on-increasing-short-term-savings-during-the-crisis/

Episode 139: Iris Tzafrir: A Kind Word https://behavioralgrooves.com/episode/iris-tzafrir-a-kind-word/

Episode 73: Terry Esau: Carbon Fiber Therapist https://behavioralgrooves.com/episode/terry-esau-carbon-fiber-therapist/

Episode 19: The Teaspoon Hustle – Part 1 with Rob Burnet https://behavioralgrooves.com/episode/the-teaspoon-hustle-part-1-with-rob-burnett/

Episode 20: The Teaspoon Hustle – Part 2 with Rob Burnet https://behavioralgrooves.com/episode/the-teaspoon-hustle-part-2-with-rob-burnett/

Episode 221: Donating Our Money Is Irrational, So Why Do We Do It? Tim Kachuriak Explains Our Motivations https://behavioralgrooves.com/episode/why-we-donate-our-money/

Episode 1: Behavioral Grooves 1: James Heyman, Phd https://behavioralgrooves.com/episode/behavioral-grooves-1-james-heyman-phd/

Episode 222: How Delusions Can Actually Be Useful: Shankar Vedantam Reveals How https://behavioralgrooves.com/episode/shankar-vedantam-useful-delusions/

AIRDATE: May 19, 2021 EPISODE 223

How Behavioral Science Can Impact Nonprofits: The Inspiring Story at Save The Children